Skip to main content

To enjoy your pool comfortably, take into account these criteria for choosing your location.

A pool should be positioned on a flat, stable and non-wet ground. Always start by having a soil study done by a specialized company and ask for the advice of your Pool Master to make the right choice of location and avoid any surprises!

If your ground is sloped, the installation costs will be higher, as you will need to level the area, install drainage to prevent water from running into the pool, stabilize and reinforce the foundations and fill in part of the ground. In all cases, avoid placing the pool at the bottom of the slope, as it will receive the flowing water and all the vegetal waste from the ground directly.

The nature of the soil must be taken into account to properly install your pool. In fact, poor soil quality leads to additional costs and may even weaken the pool.

Filled Soil
Even though the fill is said to be stable, it takes at least a decade to be stable enough. Have a soil study done to verify that its stability can support a pool and that the nature of its components is adequate. It is often advised to rely on the natural soil for the foundations of a pool.

Limestone Soil
Limestone soil is perfect for installing a pool. Stable, compact and dry, it does not require complex reinforcement or drainage devices.

Sandy Soil
A soil consisting of sand is unstable. It swells with rain and dries out with the sun. To install a pool, you will need to plan for work to reinforce the foundations, drain the waters and control the humidity.

Clay Soil
Clay soil is always moving, as it swells in the presence of water and dries out in heat. If you wish to install a pool on clay soil, plan for a sufficient drainage system, a reinforcement of the foundations, good fill and a decompression well to reduce and control the humidity.

Rocky Soil
If you want to install a pool on rocky soil, you will need to call a landscaper equipped with adapted machines, including a rock breaker. Your work will be long and costly.

You may also be interested

28 March 2023

Ideal location – environment

Read more
28 March 2023

How a Pool Works

Read more
28 March 2023

How Pool Pumps Work

Read more

Leave us your comment

Join Canada's pool and spa owner community

Tips, tricks and promotions are waiting for you now.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Skip to main content

Pour profiter agréablement de votre piscine, tenir compte de ces critères pour le choix de votre emplacement.
Il faut positionner une piscine sur un terrain bien plat, stable et non humide. Commencez toujours par faire faire une étude de sol par une entreprise spécialisée et demandez les conseils de votre Maître Piscinier pour faire le bon choix d’implantation et éviter les mauvaises surprises !

Si votre terrain est en pente, les frais d’implantation seront plus importants, car il faudra aplanir la zone, implanter un drainage pour éviter que l’eau ne ruisselle dans la piscine, stabiliser et renforcer les fondations et remblayer une partie du terrain. Dans tous les cas, évitez de placer la piscine en bas de la pente, car elle recevra directement l’eau ruisselante et tous les déchets végétaux du terrain.

La nature du sol doit être prise en compte pour bien implanter votre piscine. En effet, un sol de mauvaise qualité entraîne des surcoûts, voire une fragilisation de la piscine.

Sol remblayé
Le remblai a beau être dit stable, il lui faut au moins une décennie pour l’être suffisamment. Faites faire une étude de sol pour vérifier que sa stabilité supporte une piscine et que la nature de ses composants soit adéquate. Il est d’ailleurs souvent conseillé de s’appuyer sur le sol naturel pour les fondations d’une piscine.

Sol calcaire
Le sol calcaire est parfait pour implanter une piscine. Stable, compact et sec, il ne nécessite pas de dispositif complexe de renfort ni de drainage.

Sol sableux
Un sol constitué de sable est instable. Il gonfle avec les pluies et s’assèche avec le soleil. Pour y implanter une piscine, il faut prévoir des travaux pour renforcer les fondations, drainer les eaux et contrôler l’humidité.

Sol argileux
Le sol argileux bouge en permanence, car il gonfle en présence d’eau et se dessèche en cas de chaleur. Si vous souhaitez implanter une piscine en terrain argileux, prévoyez un dispositif de drainage suffisant, un renfort des fondations, un bon remblai et un puits de décompression pour réduire et contrôler l’humidité.

Sol rocheux
Si vous voulez implanter une piscine en terrain rocheux, il vous faudra faire appel à un terrassier équipé de machines adaptées, dont un brise-roche. Vos travaux seront longs et coûteux.

Pourraient aussi vous intéresser

28 mars 2023

L’emplacement idéal – environnement

Lire plus
28 mars 2023

Fonctionnement d’une piscine

Lire plus
28 mars 2023

Comment fonctionne la pompe de la piscine

Lire plus

Laissez-nous votre commentaire

Rejoindre la communauté des propriétaires de piscines et spas du Canada

Astuces, conseils et promotions vous attendent maintenant.

« * » indique les champs nécessaires

Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.